A Broadband and ADSL forum. BroadbandBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » BroadbandBanter forum » Broadband, ADSL & VOIP newsgroups » UK broadband
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach installing 10mbit copper?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old December 28th 17, 01:13 AM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
Paul Cummins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 155
Default No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach in

In article , (7)
wrote:

So that's just 2.2 million people, so less than 1 million

addresses.

So competitor to London now means 1 million addresses to you.


You are the one making the claim. Each time you state I am making the
claim, you are trolling.

--
Paul Cummins - Always a NetHead
Wasting Bandwidth since 1981
====
Visit North Kent's 2nd biggest supplier of Sour Grapes
http://www.grapesdirect.co.uk

Ads
  #13  
Old December 28th 17, 09:58 PM posted to uk.politics.misc,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.telecom.broadband
stephen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 250
Default No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach installing 10mbit copper?

On Tue, 26 Dec 2017 12:19:18 +0000, 7 wrote:

No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach installing 10mbit copper?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is no physical infrastructure in UK for copper 10mbit services.

You need to go read some standards.

Ethernet over last mile (EFM) will run multipair copper and inverse
mux the data streams to give up to ~ 20 Mbps aggregate link speed.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethern...the_first_mile
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethernet_over_copper

Not cheap though as multiple copper pairs, and you cannot use the same
pairs at the same time for other services such as analog voice, alarm
lines et al, so has been confined to business services at least in the
UK

Or maybe you mean ADSL 2+ - good for up to 24 Mbps, but only at
unreasonabl short distances for a generic service, so the most that
seems to have been offered in the UK is 16 Mbps down, 1+ Mbps up?

Or maybe FTTC with fibre to a cabinet / building concentrator and
copper for the last few 100m?
- Openreach will rent an "up to" 80 Mbps down / 20 Mbps up
service.....
- easy enough to rate limit that and give a 10 Mbps symmetric Ethernet
service.

But BT (British Telecum) shiite investors, Pusnet, Openroach, Ski, Offcum et al,
all valued share holders in BT shiite for investor values
are only installing copper services at 20x expense.

What you are ignoring is those companies belong to the investors and
they dictate what happens
- if you want to fix that go find a few million friends, buy all the
shares in BT and get them to run it the way you want.

The entire UK is run on fibre infrastructure.

the core is fibre and that is gradually being deployed further into
the "edge" network.
- but the added cost of all the plumbing for that works because of
the aggregated traffic - the cost vs payback tradeoffs are different
for an individual consumer access

snip

--
Stephen
  #14  
Old December 29th 17, 03:22 PM posted to uk.politics.misc,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.telecom.broadband
7[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 389
Default No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach installing 10mbit copper?

Stephen wrote:


No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach
installing 10mbit copper?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is no physical infrastructure in UK for copper 10mbit services.

You need to go read some standards.


No thanks. And no, copper is not a standard for infrastructure.

There is no copper infrastructure in UK for internet.
The entire infrastructure is fibre.


No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach installing 10mbit copper?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is no physical infrastructure in UK for copper 10mbit services.

But BT (British Telecum) shiite investors, Pusnet, Openroach, Ski, Offcum et al,
all valued share holders in BT shiite for investor values
are only installing copper services at 20x expense.

The entire UK is run on fibre infrastructure.

At $14 per fibre modem, fibre is cheaper compared
to 20x more expensive copper equipment.

So why is BT shiite telecum investing in copper?

And why is openroach doing double blow jobs on
customer premises?

At $2 per meter for fibre optical cable with
several hundred cores, it is cheaper to install
fibre once, terminate and provision the service in one visit.

Instead openroach installs an empty tube in the time
it takes to install one fibre. And then spends double
time blowing fibre down empty tubes. That takes
double time and more space in the ducts than simply
cabling up once with several hundred fibres like
everyone else, terminating and lighting up
the cable from end to end on the same day.
But openroach project managers don't know how to do
that. Its takes two guys to cable, two guys to blow
fibres, several guys to terminate, test, liven,
and multiple visits to get it going.

To retrain all 33,000 openroach telecum engineers
to install fibre will take decades for brex**** plc.

The market for ducts is disfunctional.
Its better to confiscate all the ducts and give
it to an agnostic body that will charge according
to space usage. So if openroach install an empty
tube and blow one fibre into it with their
super thick management shiites running the show,
they will have to pay same cost as a startup installing several
hundred cores and charging customers a fraction of
the install cost.

Soon internet is to be right - not a luxury.
If it is to be a right, then you should be able to hire
your own cabler to install the cheapest
and approved fibre cable for you,
and then bill the duct owners which would then
have to be paid for by the ISPs equally.
That way monopoly double blow job openroach
won't have any business worth keeping their
engineers for. They can all migrate to the new
startups and be retrained more quickly to
more efficiently install fibre and get it working
on the same day as the install date.

  #17  
Old December 30th 17, 10:26 AM posted to uk.politics.misc,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.telecom.broadband
David Woolley[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum)Openroach in

On 30/12/17 08:26, Woody wrote:
I think what he may be saying is that the backbone and switch
distribution of the Internet in the UK is fibre - which may be true if
you omit the various microwave links over which it also flows and the
local loop.


But his whole case seems to be about the local loop, where the vast
existing copper infrastructure is why fibre is so late to arrive,
especially outside urban areas.
  #18  
Old December 30th 17, 12:04 PM posted to uk.politics.misc,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.telecom.broadband
7[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 389
Default No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach in

David Woolley wrote:

On 30/12/17 08:26, Woody wrote:
I think what he may be saying is that the backbone and switch
distribution of the Internet in the UK is fibre - which may be true if
you omit the various microwave links over which it also flows and the
local loop.


But his whole case seems to be about the local loop, where the vast
existing copper infrastructure is why fibre is so late to arrive,
especially outside urban areas.



Interesting - so you are saying UK infrastructure is fibre,
but local poop is copper at 20x expense when it
need only cost $14 per fibre modem for internet?

So why is British Telecum pooping over their shiite valued customers
with copper at the local level at 20x expense when they
could be installing 1 gigabit fibre at $14 per fibre modem?


  #19  
Old December 30th 17, 01:37 PM posted to uk.politics.misc,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.telecom.broadband
Woody[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 476
Default No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum) Openroach in


"David Woolley" wrote in message
news
On 30/12/17 08:26, Woody wrote:
I think what he may be saying is that the backbone and switch
distribution of the Internet in the UK is fibre - which may be true
if
you omit the various microwave links over which it also flows and
the
local loop.


But his whole case seems to be about the local loop, where the vast
existing copper infrastructure is why fibre is so late to arrive,
especially outside urban areas.



Late? That's not the word for it.

We have friends who libe in a village about 6 miles outside Darmstadt
and they have had FTTP since the mid noughties carrying Interweb, all
TV and radio AND the phone. It has never failed once.

What is more no digging - all installed using by boring from the
street into the cellar using a small boring device on the end of a
control shaft. Whole street of about 40 houses done in less than a
week.

BT? Who are they?



--
Woody

harrogate3 at ntlworld dot com


  #20  
Old December 30th 17, 02:20 PM posted to uk.politics.misc,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.telecom.broadband
Graham J[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 600
Default No copper infrastructure in UK so why is BT (British Telecum)Openroach in

Woody wrote:

[snip]


What is more no digging - all installed using by boring from the
street into the cellar using a small boring device on the end of a
control shaft. Whole street of about 40 houses done in less than a
week.


Our village is suffering major roadworks while Anglian Water installs a
new public sewer. This involves cutting a trench about 0.7 metre wide
by between 2.5m and 5m deep along the length of the road through the
village. It seems to me that this work is an obvious candidate for a
boring device - yet the contractors tell me that boring is much more
expensive - it beats me why! Can anybody explain?

While digging this trench they could have installed an empty duct for
other services (such as fibre) at almost nil cost - yet there doesn't
seem to be any obligation on them to do so. It follows that next year
or whenever we get fibre Openreach will probably dig up the road again.

Is there a planning system in this country, or what?

--
Graham J





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT No Fibre Availability To The Premises 2020 7[_3_] UK broadband 11 December 7th 17 11:14 AM
How farmer's wifey 1Gbit fibre optic network beats up BT, VM, offconn, Openroach university PhDs 7[_3_] UK broadband 6 July 5th 17 04:28 PM
Two Fibre nodes yards of each other 7[_3_] UK broadband 7 June 28th 17 09:54 AM
Kooch brothers turn into anti-fibre internet screaming gurlies 7[_3_] UK broadband 8 June 21st 17 08:11 PM
BT renames FTTP to CTTP in major marketing push 7[_3_] UK broadband 2 June 17th 17 09:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 BroadbandBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.