A Broadband and ADSL forum. BroadbandBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » BroadbandBanter forum » Broadband, ADSL & VOIP newsgroups » UK broadband
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old December 25th 17, 12:12 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
R. Mark Clayton[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 263
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On Thursday, 9 November 2017 18:52:51 UTC, R. Mark Clayton wrote:
On Saturday, 4 November 2017 20:06:53 UTC, bert wrote:
In article , R.


SNIP


That is what I should have done in 1997 - anyone got a tardis?

--
bert

It's never too late...
--
bert


Seems to be some sort of hazard - e.g. trying to send asynchronously with a general download, but have not pinned it down yet.

On phone / tablet it says password invalid :-(


Web log in refused this morning - possibly mistyped the fist password attempt, but not the next two before it winged "too many log in attempts - you are locked out". Fortunately Outlook wasn't.
Ads
  #22  
Old December 25th 17, 12:30 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
Davey
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 546
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On Mon, 25 Dec 2017 03:12:18 -0800 (PST)
"R. Mark Clayton" wrote:

- possibly mistyped the fist password attempt,



That is beautiful!

--
Davey.
  #23  
Old December 25th 17, 06:57 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
R. Mark Clayton[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 263
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On Monday, 25 December 2017 11:30:30 UTC, Davey wrote:
On Mon, 25 Dec 2017 03:12:18 -0800 (PST)
"R. Mark Clayton" wrote:

- possibly mistyped the fist password attempt,



That is beautiful!

--
Davey.


Doh - it was me this time - [carefully] typing in my Microsoft password instead!

I suppose I could let my passwords be remembered somewhere on my PC or the web - the trouble is that whilst I am pretty sure no-one can read my memory, except me, I am less certain about passwords stored anywhere else!
  #24  
Old December 25th 17, 08:32 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
MB[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 146
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On 26/10/2017 12:41, Davey wrote:
About the same time they provide full Broadband infrastructure to all
parts of Britain?


You can always change to Virgin Fibre or someone else, surely they all
provide full Broadband infrastructure to all parts of Britain ?
  #25  
Old December 25th 17, 09:03 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
Davey
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 546
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On Mon, 25 Dec 2017 19:32:09 +0000
MB wrote:

On 26/10/2017 12:41, Davey wrote:
About the same time they provide full Broadband infrastructure to
all parts of Britain?


You can always change to Virgin Fibre or someone else, surely they
all provide full Broadband infrastructure to all parts of Britain ?


" Our services aren’t currently available in your area

We've checked your address, (half and hour from Bury St. Edmunds, an
hour from Norwich), and unfortunately it looks like you can't get our
services right now."
Virgin Media.

--
Davey.

  #26  
Old December 25th 17, 11:19 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
MB[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 146
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On 25/12/2017 20:03, Davey wrote:
" Our services aren’t currently available in your area

We've checked your address, (half and hour from Bury St. Edmunds, an
hour from Norwich), and unfortunately it looks like you can't get our
services right now."
Virgin Media.


Just amuses me that it is always BT who get all the comments on coverage
whilst their competitors cherry-pick the profitable areas but seem to
get away without getting the same criticism.

  #27  
Old December 26th 17, 10:54 AM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On Tuesday, December 26, 2017 at 9:31:26 AM UTC, Angus Robertson - Magenta Systems Ltd wrote:
Just amuses me that it is always BT who get all the comments on
coverage whilst their competitors cherry-pick the profitable
areas but seem to get away without getting the same criticism.


Perhaps because BT inherited a nationwide duct and cable network when the GPO
was privatised at far less it's commercial value and is allowed to continue
using cheap telegraph poles and drop cables to serve premises.

Even today, the government has paid BT billions to subsidise broadband instead
of BT shareholders paying and the public is now expected to pay billions more
for USO.

Meanwhile the cable companies have to build new duct past every property they
wish to serve without any public subsidy. and is not allowed cables above
ground. I'm sure we all agree this makes much more pleasant streets than in
the USA with massive flying cable bundles, but it's not a level playing field.

The cable companies cherry picked areas just as BT does, declaring thousands of
exchanges unprofitable for commercial FTTC rollout, thus requiring BDUK
subsidies.

Angus


But these cable companies could have bid for the broadband buisness, but never did.
  #28  
Old December 26th 17, 02:13 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
Angus Robertson - Magenta Systems Ltd
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 66
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

Just amuses me that it is always BT who get all the comments on
coverage whilst their competitors cherry-pick the profitable
areas but seem to get away without getting the same criticism.


Perhaps because BT inherited a nationwide duct and cable network when the GPO
was privatised at far less it's commercial value and is allowed to continue
using cheap telegraph poles and drop cables to serve premises.

Even today, the government has paid BT billions to subsidise broadband instead
of BT shareholders paying and the public is now expected to pay billions more
for USO.

Meanwhile the cable companies have to build new duct past every property they
wish to serve without any public subsidy. and is not allowed cables above
ground. I'm sure we all agree this makes much more pleasant streets than in
the USA with massive flying cable bundles, but it's not a level playing field.

The cable companies cherry picked areas just as BT does, declaring thousands of
exchanges unprofitable for commercial FTTC rollout, thus requiring BDUK
subsidies.

Angus



  #29  
Old December 27th 17, 02:07 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
R. Mark Clayton[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 263
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

On Monday, 25 December 2017 17:57:46 UTC, R. Mark Clayton wrote:
On Monday, 25 December 2017 11:30:30 UTC, Davey wrote:
On Mon, 25 Dec 2017 03:12:18 -0800 (PST)
"R. Mark Clayton" wrote:

- possibly mistyped the fist password attempt,



That is beautiful!

--
Davey.


Doh - it was me this time - [carefully] typing in my Microsoft password instead!


Spoke too soon - overnight block on non web mail access last night :-(

Usually the cause appears to be a hazard between Outlook and the servers, when I move an email from the inbox to another folder while it is talking to the server, however Outlook wasn't running this time...


I suppose I could let my passwords be remembered somewhere on my PC or the web - the trouble is that whilst I am pretty sure no-one can read my memory, except me, I am less certain about passwords stored anywhere else!

  #30  
Old December 27th 17, 04:03 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
Woody[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 453
Default BT [Yahoo!] servers screwed yet again

Don't think you lot are the only ones.

VM often rejects mail addresses both incoming and outgoing as unknown.
Try sending it again and it rejects again. Close down Outlook and it
says there are unsent mails - respond yes and sometimes it will send
them (or some of them if different senders) others fail again. Next
time you open Outlook it (usually) sends them immediately without
problem.

It quite often denies knowledge of incoming addresses as well, and
that too fails until about the third try.


That's teknologie for you I presume.....


--
Woody

harrogate3 at ntlworld dot com


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT internet blocking some incoming emails NY UK broadband 37 September 17th 14 06:28 AM
Anyone care to explain how BT work with Static IP [email protected] UK broadband 9 May 5th 14 08:13 PM
Connecting a telecom surge protector *after* a ADSL filter BT Faceplate (Long!) Matthew Long[_2_] UK broadband 1 April 21st 08 01:33 AM
BT router replacement required - and i'd still avoid BT like the plague kevin bailey UK broadband 16 March 18th 06 06:59 PM
the BB wacky race is on!! - BT fix modem or Telewest install whole new connection? kevin bailey UK broadband 25 March 8th 06 04:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 BroadbandBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.