A Broadband and ADSL forum. BroadbandBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » BroadbandBanter forum » Broadband, ADSL & VOIP newsgroups » UK broadband
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 7th 18, 01:58 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.politics.misc
7[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 322
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?
--------------------------------------------------------------

The answer is 10gbit fibre.

The reason is down to balancing the price difference with contention ratio
and future expansion.

1gbit fibre is same as 10gbit fibre so no difference there.
Its still around $2 per meter for hundred+ cores.

Get 20km with $14 fibre modems.
Get 100km with $30 fibre modems.

The difference between 1gbit fibre modem and 10gbit fibre modem is
not that great - about $20 for 10gbit fibre modem with 10km range.

Fibre install - don't allow Openroach to install it.

They are the thick shiites of the fibre installation industry.

First they install an empty tube. Then do a double install blow job
by blowing fibre. Then it takes several more site visits
to get the fibre lit. Minimum £500 per install. Most likely
£800 per install if shiit for investor value BT's (British Telecum)
Openroach engineers are doing the install.

Instead if BT and Openroach can be banned from your
premises together with their 10mbit reseller into government Offcum,
and you had fair access to the ducts,
you can do the fibre install yourself, it would take you at £2
per meter for fibre, next to no time installing 100+ fibres in one go.
And using a $1000 fusion splice joiner, you can join a fibre
with 0.01db loss in under 3 minutes and light it up in 10 minutes
if you have engineers at both ends that know what they
are doing. Your total cost including install, fibre modem, etc
would average out to less than £150 per install.

The routers for 1gbit is around $600, and climbs to $1000 for
10gbit routers because their back planes have to handle so
much more data.
You could probably build your own cheaper if you know
how to make it with FPGA.

After having done all that, with 1gbit, you can sell with 50:1
contention ratio, but with 10gbit you can sell 500:1 contention ratio.

But your costs are less than double while your customers
serviced increase 10 fold.

So the benefits of 10gbit installs outweigh the benefits of
provisioning 1gbit fibre internet.

When selling the internet, if you sell a 500:1 contention
ratio, many people would be fine with that
if that is what they want.

If the links on one line is not all being used but traffic is high from
one person, a proper router would simply auto rate
the person who has been using a lot of data,
and let others use the bandwidth when needed, and then when
those packets are serviced, up the data rate
for the higher bandwidth user - all done in milliseconds
with proper routers without having to have an infrastructure team that
costs a lot of money to employ - to then ring
up the high bandwidth user and tell them off, and write
all kinds of love letters to the user.
IT IS COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY.
IT IS ILLITERATE MANAGEMENT TROLLING THAT PUTS IN THESE
STRUCTURES - not technology.
The user has paid for 500:1 contention ratio line
and that is what he legally getting when
the router throttles back. And you don't need
to employ yet more people and rack up costs
to ring up your users and write love letters
to your users all day long.

So someone wanting 10:1 contention ratio can then
buy it if they want such a service.
All you would need to do is put that account
on a different router setting to give them more bandwidth
You would need buy routers with these proper software settings.
So everybody makes more money with greater education
and with fewer overheads and less aggravations all around.

Also 5G rollout is about to begin.
If you already provision 10gbit, you could win all
of those orders while BT (British Telecum) shiite for
investor value with their Openroach shiite double blow
job fibre installers charge £25,000 for a 10gbit link
and loose all their shiite customers.



Ads
  #2  
Old January 7th 18, 04:23 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
Paul Cross
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

On Sunday, 7 January 2018 14:48:19 UTC, 7 wrote:
Paul Cummins wrote:


1gbit fibre is same as 10gbit fibre so no difference there.
Its still around $2 per meter for hundred+ cores.


You've never shown us where you can buy fibre at these pries in the UK.


You are a paid internet trolling liar.


Answer the question, where in the UK can you buy this?


Get 20km with $14 fibre modems.
Get 100km with $30 fibre modems.


You've never shown us where you can buy modems at these prices in the UK.


You are a paid internet trolling liar.


Answer the question, where in the UK can you buy this?


And using a $1000 fusion splice joiner, you can join a fibre
with 0.01db loss in under 3 minutes and light it up in 10 minutes


You've never shown us where you can buy splicers at these prices in the
UK.


You are a paid internet trolling liar.


Answer the question, where in the UK can you buy this?
snip
  #3  
Old January 7th 18, 08:13 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband,uk.misc,uk.finance,uk.politics.misc
Paul Cummins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 150
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

In article , (7)
wrote:

1gbit fibre is same as 10gbit fibre so no difference there.
Its still around $2 per meter for hundred+ cores.


You've never shown us where you can buy fibre at these pries in the UK.

Get 20km with $14 fibre modems.
Get 100km with $30 fibre modems.


You've never shown us where you can buy modems at these prices in the UK.

And using a $1000 fusion splice joiner, you can join a fibre
with 0.01db loss in under 3 minutes and light it up in 10 minutes


You've never shown us where you can buy splicers at these prices in the
UK.

In fact, your entire premise is based on foreign supplies at trade prices
in country, without considering import costs, employment costs etc etc.
I've tried very hard to explain how this all works, from my own industry
experience, having worked for Cix, Telewest, and others, and you seem
entirely resistant to Clue.

You've been criticised for this by a number of people, without rebuttal.
This makes you a troll and a liar. Hence you now end up in my killfile.

--
Paul Cummins - Always a NetHead
Wasting Bandwidth since 1981
====
Visit North Kent's 2nd biggest supplier of Sour Grapes
http://www.grapesdirect.co.uk

  #5  
Old January 16th 18, 01:03 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
R. Mark Clayton[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 263
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

On Sunday, 7 January 2018 12:58:59 UTC, 7 wrote:
Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?
--------------------------------------------------------------

The answer is 10gbit fibre.


The answer is dark fibre and you stick whatever kit you want at each end...

Oh and you do NOT need 100 cores - just a few (for redundancy).
  #6  
Old January 16th 18, 01:56 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
7[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 322
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

R. Mark Clayton wrote:


Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?
--------------------------------------------------------------

The answer is 10gbit fibre.


The answer is dark fibre and you stick whatever kit you want at each
end...


That is a better answer if fibre with illegal market
distortion of fibre unbundling being kept back by
a few incumbents were replaced with unbundled fibre
providers.

Oh and you do NOT need 100 cores - just a few (for redundancy).


Yes you do - at £2 a meter, a second cabling exercise costs
a lot more than installing the £2 a meter 100+ core cable.
Going for 1000 or 10,000 cores a lot better because a second
fibre install is astronomical in cost by comparison if you ran out.
A rule of thumb is something like 1 fibre per person in an area
is good enough to manage future expansion.

$1000 cost 6 axis fully automatic fusion splicers with 0.01db
loss easy to order now.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DHL-...734790096.html
  #7  
Old January 16th 18, 04:32 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
R. Mark Clayton[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 263
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

On Tuesday, 16 January 2018 12:56:36 UTC, 7 wrote:
R. Mark Clayton wrote:


Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?
--------------------------------------------------------------

The answer is 10gbit fibre.


The answer is dark fibre and you stick whatever kit you want at each
end...


That is a better answer if fibre with illegal market
distortion of fibre unbundling being kept back by
a few incumbents were replaced with unbundled fibre
providers.

Oh and you do NOT need 100 cores - just a few (for redundancy).


Yes you do - at £2 a meter, a second cabling exercise costs
a lot more than installing the £2 a meter 100+ core cable.
Going for 1000 or 10,000 cores a lot better because a second
fibre install is astronomical in cost by comparison if you ran out.
A rule of thumb is something like 1 fibre per person in an area
is good enough to manage future expansion.


Ran out of what? You can send Tbps down a single fibre. WTF would one install a hundred strand cable at ten times the price?

If after installation you need more bandwidth you simple put a higher bandwidth switch at each end - NO new fibres.


$1000 cost 6 axis fully automatic fusion splicers with 0.01db
loss easy to order now.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DHL-...734790096.html


  #8  
Old January 16th 18, 05:18 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
7[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 322
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

R. Mark Clayton wrote:


Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?
--------------------------------------------------------------

The answer is 10gbit fibre.


The answer is dark fibre and you stick whatever kit you want at each
end...


That is a better answer if fibre with illegal market
distortion of fibre unbundling being kept back by
a few incumbents were replaced with unbundled fibre
providers.

Oh and you do NOT need 100 cores - just a few (for redundancy).


Yes you do - at £2 a meter, a second cabling exercise costs
a lot more than installing the £2 a meter 100+ core cable.
Going for 1000 or 10,000 cores a lot better because a second
fibre install is astronomical in cost by comparison if you ran out.
A rule of thumb is something like 1 fibre per person in an area
is good enough to manage future expansion.


Ran out of what? You can send Tbps down a single fibre. WTF would one
install a hundred strand cable at ten times the price?


Seems you don't understand fibre technology too well.
You need fibre modems of Tbps to make it all work.
A lot cheaper to stick with 1gbit and 10gbit until
the 100gbit comes down in price before moving on to Tbit.
Which means using more fibres. And fibres break.
Resilience needed at every opportunity.
£2/m per 100+ core is not the most expensive thing
on the day when cabling. Man power costs and equipment hire per
meter would be a lot higher. I might put a 12 core into
a house, but all the streets would be minimum 100 core,
and if its the only link into a village then 1000 core,
and into a town, then 10,000 core.

Put it this way, you would not catch me installing single core
fibres just because it is 1/10th the price of £2/m 100+ core cable.
That is the least of my costs for the day which you have
been told numerous times. You should stick to reading the original
poosts to stop wasting everyone's time with your daily
rants and keep up to date and to avoid being charged
a fee for second reply.


If after installation you need more bandwidth you simple put a higher
bandwidth switch at each end - NO new fibres.


$1000 cost 6 axis fully automatic fusion splicers with 0.01db
loss easy to order now.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DHL-...734790096.html


  #9  
Old January 16th 18, 05:31 PM posted to uk.telecom.broadband
R. Mark Clayton[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 263
Default Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?

On Tuesday, 16 January 2018 16:18:31 UTC, 7 wrote:
R. Mark Clayton wrote:


Is it better to install 1gbit fibre or 10gbit fibre in UK plc?
--------------------------------------------------------------

The answer is 10gbit fibre.


The answer is dark fibre and you stick whatever kit you want at each
end...

That is a better answer if fibre with illegal market
distortion of fibre unbundling being kept back by
a few incumbents were replaced with unbundled fibre
providers.

Oh and you do NOT need 100 cores - just a few (for redundancy).

Yes you do - at £2 a meter, a second cabling exercise costs
a lot more than installing the £2 a meter 100+ core cable.
Going for 1000 or 10,000 cores a lot better because a second
fibre install is astronomical in cost by comparison if you ran out.
A rule of thumb is something like 1 fibre per person in an area
is good enough to manage future expansion.


Ran out of what? You can send Tbps down a single fibre. WTF would one
install a hundred strand cable at ten times the price?


Seems you don't understand fibre technology too well.
You need fibre modems of Tbps to make it all work.
A lot cheaper to stick with 1gbit and 10gbit until
the 100gbit comes down in price before moving on to Tbit.


Indeed.

Which means using more fibres.


Hardly.

And fibres break.


True which is why there are usually quite a few even in the thinnest.

Resilience needed at every opportunity.


As above.

£2/m per 100+ core is not the most expensive thing
on the day when cabling. Man power costs and equipment hire per
meter would be a lot higher. I might put a 12 core into
a house, but all the streets would be minimum 100 core,
and if its the only link into a village then 1000 core,
and into a town, then 10,000 core.


Complete overkill - what speed do BT and VM run their backbone links?


Put it this way, you would not catch me installing single core
fibres just because it is 1/10th the price of £2/m 100+ core cable.
That is the least of my costs for the day which you have
been told numerous times. You should stick to reading the original
poosts to stop wasting everyone's time with your daily
rants and keep up to date and to avoid being charged
a fee for second reply.


If after installation you need more bandwidth you simple put a higher
bandwidth switch at each end - NO new fibres.


$1000 cost 6 axis fully automatic fusion splicers with 0.01db
loss easy to order now.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DHL-...734790096.html


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creaking copper - the greatest lie ever sold by Bhtee master baiters to UK 7[_3_] UK broadband 2 October 15th 17 03:57 PM
uk 31st in the world for broadband Chris UK broadband 28 August 16th 17 12:12 AM
BT (British Telecum) VM Openroach Offconn sells uploads speeds no good for internet gaming 7[_3_] UK broadband 3 August 8th 17 04:06 AM
BT (British Telecum) lies about rural broadband tim... UK broadband 2 August 7th 17 12:42 PM
How farmer's wifey 1Gbit fibre optic network beats up BT, VM, offconn, Openroach university PhDs 7[_3_] UK broadband 6 July 5th 17 05:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 BroadbandBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.